Cinder & Ella Book Review

I know I said I’d be gone this week, but between classes, I reread a book I love and wanted to review it for you all.  It’s definitely a must buy!

Cinder & Ella – A magical retelling

Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram is technically a contemporary Cinderella story. And it does have the main elements. However, if you don’t like Cinderella stories, don’t worry. This is not your typical one. The elements of Cinderella are woven so magically and subtlety you don’t even really notice. Instead, you read this wonderful book that is not quite like anything you’ve read before. To be honest, even with the title, I didn’t even really think of how it truly was a Cinderella story until I read a blog post/character interview where the supporting characters were talking about their roles in the story (fairy godmother, ‘ugly’ stepsister, etc.)

Cinder & Ella is one of my favorite books, hands down. Then again, I do have a lot of favorites. However, this one really is spectacular. If it tells you anything, I purchased this in February and have already reread it at least a dozen times. I can think of at least 3 times this month! If I’m having a bad day and just need to relax, or I need something to do but don’t want to start something new, this is one of my very first picks of what to read. It has some really great quotes, but moreover, it has wonderful characters. This is a book that will make you laugh, and might make you cry (it didn’t me, but I don’t have a heart). Every time I reread it, no matter how many times I’ve read it before or what is going on in my life, I smile. This book makes me happy. It’s not one of those stories where everything goes right and there’s no tragedy. No. There’s tragedy. Plenty of it. But it’s realistic and it makes the story work. Plus, the main characters are both bookworms. How can you not love a book like that?

This is a book that deals with loss, depression, suicide attempts, divorce and family issues, bullying, and more, but it does so in a way that doesn’t bog the story down or push anyone into a corner. Even with these various serious subjects, it’s a funny book that makes you smile. And it warms your heart. I don’t know what more I can say to recommend this book, other than that it is absolutely amazing and you won’t be disappointed. Oh, and if you read it, the author has several character interviews on her website in the extra sections, so those are added bonuses!

Here’s the buy link: http://www.amazon.com/Cinder-Ella-Kelly-Oram-ebook/dp/B00MRLYO7K/ref=pd_sim_b_3?ie=UTF8&refRID=01FTJDTBX62VEX50M7TX

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

